EE 200  —  Accelerated programming for graduate students

Class sessions are on Mondays and Wednesdays, 4:30-5:45pm in Halligan Hall 108.

Quick links: GradescopePiazza

Notices

6 August 2019

Class starts on Wednesday, September 4 at 4:30pm in Halligan 108. Please bring a laptop if you have one.

I look forward to seeing you there!

Quiz Topic AoP reading Assignment
Sep 4 Wednesday Welcome and introduction Welcome survey (provide)
Sep 9 Monday 2 Reading code, types 2,3 Homework 2 (provide)
Sep 11 Wednesday 3 Writing, compiling, and debugging code 1-1.3, 4-6 Homework 3 (git/gradescope)
Sep 16 Monday 4 Pointers 8 Homework 4 (Due 9/23)
Sep 18 Wednesday 5 Arrays 9 Homework 5 (Due 9/25)
Sep 23 Monday 6 Using pointers and arrays for good and evil (code) 10 Homework 6 (Due 9/30)
Sep 25 Wednesday Even more on pointers and arrays
Sep 30 Monday 8 No class
Oct 2 Wednesday 9 Interacting with the user and system (syscall.c linenumbers.c ) 11 Homework 7
Oct 7 Monday Recursion 7 Homework 8
Oct 9 Wednesday Exam 1
Oct 14 Monday No class – Indigenous People’s Day
Oct 15 Tuesday 10 Dynamic allocation 12
Oct 16 Wednesday 11 Object-oriented programming 14, 16 Homework 10 (Due 10/21)
Oct 21 Monday 12 Constructors and destructors (makingcopies.cpp) 15 Homework 11 (Due 10/28)
Oct 23 Wednesday 13 Templates (templates1.cpp, template2.cpp) 17 Homework 12 (Due 11/1)
Oct 28 Monday 14 Inheritance (shape_inheritance.cpp) 18
Oct 30 Wednesday 15 Error handling (exceptions.cpp) 19 Homework 13 (Due 11/4)
Nov 4 Monday 16 Concurrency, callbacks, and the real world (threadtimer.cpp)
Nov 6 Wednesday Exam 2
Nov 11 Monday No class – Veterans Day
Nov 13 Wednesday 17 Overview of algorithm analysis: Big-O and sorting 20.1, 26
Nov 18 Monday 18 Linked lists 21
Nov 20 Wednesday 19 Binary Search Trees 22
Nov 25 Monday 20 Hash tables 23
Nov 27 Wednesday No class – Thanksgiving break
Dec 2 Monday 21 Heaps and priority queues 24 Homework 15 (Due 12/6)
Homework 16 (Due 12/10)
Dec 4 Wednesday 22 Multithreading in modern C 28
Dec 9 Monday 23 Graphs 25
Dec 12 Thursday Final exam 7-9pm